The Transgender Boards
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Long, Bloody and Gone!

5 posters

Go down

Long, Bloody and Gone! Empty Long, Bloody and Gone!

Post  MichaelaSJ Tue Aug 31, 2021 3:32 am

Some of you know I am a Vietnam Combat Vet. In 1966 I shot airplanes off an aircraft carrier at North Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, and I undoubtedly helped to kill, innocent mothers and fathers and children of those we shot our weapons at: the Viet Cong, Pathet Lao, Khmer Rouge and North Vietnamese.

I am little troubled by the carnage my participation in the Vietnam War caused. But I am troubled by the implicit permissions those Vietnamese civilians on the ground gave to the NVA, the VC, NVA, Pathet Lao and Khmer Rouge. I will forever be tormented by the need to drop a bomb on a village where my enemy was holed up - and those villages contained women, old men and young children. We didn't know if the enemy forced them to be there or they were supporting our enemy – but they were shooting at us from their houses. They were there hiding our enemy and the enemy shot down 14 aircraft, with 6 MIA and 9 KIA pilots from my ship during my stay off northern Vietnam. Maybe some of the MIA made it to imprisonment, but likely not.

But Vietnam was my war and as ugly and brutal as it was, I will need to shoulder whatever blame I have in disrupting the lives of the Vietnamese, Laoshan and Cambodians my ship and aircraft bombed and strafed. I also share a deep-rooted belief that 58,220 of my fellow servicemen/women died over there without any real or lasting peace.

Simply thinking of a teen-ager named Stephan Montague, who was KIA in 1968 and the younger brother of a good high school Classmate of mine still brings tears to my cheeks - as it does now as I type. Steve was a very good baseball player you will never hear of except here and now.